April 11, 2016

Laredo, TX. In an exciting second game of a best of three series, the Jacksonville Giants defeated the Windy City Groove 93-90 to win the ABA Championship for the third time. “The path to the championship wasn’t easy,” stated ABA co-founder Joe Newman. “We had the strongest lineup of teams ever, but Jacksonville was definitely on a mission and beat a great Windy City Groove team to capture the championship.”

“Coach Kevin Waters and owner Ron Sholes should be very proud of what they accomplished,” continued Newman. “As for the Groove, for a first year team in a very tough division, they showed that they will definitely be a force in years to come. Owner Don Starks should also be very proud. They did an outstanding job on and off the court this year. One final note, Marlon Minifee and the Laredo Swarm organization, the host of this years Final Eight, did a spectacular job hosting one of the best ever tournaments in a marvelous facility, the Laredo Energy Center. Could not have asked for more.”


Don Sanchez